Oh! How I love to see you smile.

‘Your earrings are nice’, I said to the lady I met at the door.

Her earrings were made of carvings of the map of Africa on wood and they were really nice.
She smiled and thanked me and I walked into the office smiling.

‘Why are you smiling like that?’ someone asked me as I stepped in.
‘I just made someone smile’, I answered.

‘You know, everyday I wake up, I consciously decide to make at least 2 people smile that day and complimenting them is one of the easiest ways to do it. Sometimes, I compliment up to 15 people in a day’.

‘Sometimes, that compliment isn’t genuine’, someone else in the office added.
‘No, it always is’, I replied.

‘That compliment could actually be all they need to smile that day. They could be going through a lot or having a very rough day but just hearing that compliment does so much good to them’, Jesse my friend added.

….

Most of the time, when I see someone, I intentionally look for something about them to compliment. It could be their smile, jewelry, dress, hair, shirt, handwriting or even their voice.

The other day, a ‘brother’ was talking to someone beside me. If you hear his voice eh, the bass, dear Lord. Ó na akpofe mmadu akpofe(translated as it casts a spell on you).
I immediately complimented his voice and jokingly asked if he could whisper.

A smile lit up his face and he actually tried proving to me that he could whisper. I was happy shaa, I just made him smile. That was my aim.

Guess what? It made me smile too. When you see others smile and you know you played a role in making them smile, you would be happy as well.

Today’s story is more like a lesson than a story but I hope you enjoyed it and you learnt something.
Kindly tell me your lessons in the comment section below. Thank you for reading.

#Yourstoryispowerful #YSIPSIC #Initiative

2 responses to “Oh! How I love to see you smile.”

  1. Nice piece. I like how you are intentionally making others smile. It’s amazing

    Like

    1. Thank you dear, thank you for reading

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started